F1 Imola 2021 Grand Prix – Highlights

F1 Imola 2021
f1 drivers 2021

Max Verstappen took a superb victory in an action-packed F1 Imola 2021. The race was red-flagged halfway through after a high-speed crash involving Valtteri Bottas and George Russell. Both walked away unhurt. Lewis Hamilton recovered from a spin at Tosa to finish second. Lando Norris made it from 7 to 3 with a terrific drive that earned him the F1 Driver of the Day.

f1 drivers 2021

For the 99th time in his F1 career, Hamilton started from pole as rain fell at Imola. Verstappen jumped from third to first with a masterful second-gear launch. Hamilton briefly led again when Verstappen pitted for mediums from intermediates on Lap 27, but the Briton emerged second thanks to his sluggish stop one lap later. On Lap 31, the seven-time champion locked up and beached his car at Tosa, only to rejoin P8.
A terrifying accident followed that as Bottas and Russell came together at Tamburello. Both were thankfully unhurt. Bottas was apparently winded and Russell furious as another potential points finish slipped away from the Williams driver in a spectacular fashion.

The restart of the race

The red flag followed to allow marshals to clear the cars and debris. The rolling restart saw Verstappen keep his lead, with Hamilton quickly making up ground from P8. A brilliant recovery followed, with the world champion up to fifth by Lap 43, and third by Lap 55.

The victory was to be Verstappen’s, however, and by a margin over 20 seconds at the flag as the action behind did nothing to rattle him. That left Hamilton second, Norris third thanks to a sensational drive from P7. Leclerc was fourth – his podium having slipped away to the superior McLaren of Norris, who had jumped the Ferrari after the red flag restart.

Where did the F1 Imola 2021 Grand Prix took place?

The F1 Imola 2021 Grand Prix race took place at the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari near Imola in Italy. Its connection with F1 dates back to 1963, but it didn’t become part of the World Championship until 1980. The San Marino Grand Prix dedicated to Imola opened the following year.

How were the first 2 qualifying rounds?
How was the final qualifying round?